UBA ads

The Federal Board of Inland Revenue (FBIR) has approved the appointment of four new Coordinating Directors and two Group Heads in acting capacity. This follows the retirement of some Coordinating Directors in a reorganization that is currently going on in the agency.

This appointment was disclosed in a statement released by Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS) Director for Communication and Liaison Department, Mr. Abdullahi Ismaili, on Wednesday in Abuja.

FIRS retires coordinating directors, appoints new ones

Ismaila said that the appointment was part of ongoing-internal reforms and reorganization in order to reposition the Service towards achieving its N8.5 trillion tax target.

Going further, he explained that the decision was taken at an emergency meeting of FIRS Board which held on Friday. The meeting also approved the retirement of some directors of the agency.

[READ MORE: Union Bank announces resignation of 2 executive directors, appoints new ones)

He explained that the board approved the retirement of all directors, who had served for eight years and above as directors in the Service, as this is in line with Para 10.1(a)(iii) of Human Resources Policy and Programmes (HRPP)” of the FIRS statute.

According to him, the newly appointed Coordinating Directors are Dr Asheikh Maidugu who is now in charge of Executive Chairman’s Group; Mr Olufemi Oladeji Oluwaniyi, Tax Operations Group; Mr Innocent Chinyere Ohagwa, General Services Group, and Mr Ezra Usman Zubairu, Enforcement Support Group.

The appointed Group Heads are Mrs. Faosat Ogunniyi, who will be in charge of Compliance Support Group and Ms Chiaka Okoye, Digital Support Group.

Ismaila noted that these appointments took immediate effect and would subsist for six months, just as the Board and Management congratulated the newly appointed officials and enjoined them and other workforce of the service to continue to work hard and support Management towards meeting and surpassing the revenue targets.

The director noted that the Board and Management also thanked the retired directors for their huge contributions to the FIRS and Nigeria while in Public Service, and wished them well in their future endeavours.


It could be recalled that President Muhammadu Buhari, appointed Mr, Muhammad Nami as the new Executive Chairman of FIRS following the non-reappointment of the immediate past Executive Chairman, Mr Babatunde Fowler as part of the reorganization to reposition the revenue-generating agency.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.