UBA ads

President Donald Trump may consider his travel ban to Nigeria, Burma, Belarus, Eritrea,  Kyrgyzstan, Sudan and Tanzania. A source in the White House disclosed.

The controversial Trump is expected to make the announcement on or before Monday, which will be the three-year anniversary of his original order. The order was designed to target several majority-Muslim nations.

What it means: Trump administration would place immigration restrictions on the countries in the list but not necessarily completely ban all citizens of those nations from entering the United States. The restrictions could apply only to certain government officials, for instance, or certain types of visas.

President Buhari and President Trump of the United States in Pictures together.
President Buhari and President Trump of the United States in Pictures together.

While there are chances that the list could be changed, as is not yet final, Nigerians should be bothered about the development if the nation made the list. The reason is that any new restrictions are likely to strain ties with the affected countries, some of which assist the U.S. on issues like fighting terrorism, and some of which Washington has been trying to court for strategic reasons.

In an interview with The Wall Street Journal on Tuesday, Trump confirmed that he is trying to add additional nations to the travel ban, but declined to list the countries.

White House spokesman Hogan Gidley declined to confirm any details about plans to expand the travel ban, but defended the original order in a statement.

Nigeria At 59: Donald Trump writes President Buhari 


Standard chartered

He said, “The travel ban has been profoundly successful in protecting our country and raising the security baseline around the world. While there are no new announcements at this time, common sense and national security both dictate that if a country wants to fully participate in U.S. immigration programs.

“They should also comply with all security and counter-terrorism measures — because we do not want to import terrorism or any other national security threat into the United States.”

Standard chartered

Details: Trump signed the original travel ban on Jan. 27, 2017, just a week into his tenure. The order initially denied visas to citizens of seven majority-Muslim countries, though it was later modified as it went through a series of court challenges.


The Supreme Court eventually allowed a third iteration of the order to go into effect. It restricts entry of some citizens from Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria and Yemen, along with Venezuela and North Korea. Chad was removed from the original list.

The countries under consideration for the expanded travel ban include some that have either had solid relationships with the U.S., or which the U.S. has courted.

Nigeria, for instance, is a U.S. counter-terrorism partner and there is a large Nigerian diaspora community in the United States. At the same time, Trump has in the past referred to African nations as “shithole” countries whose citizens he did not want coming to the United States.

He also once said that if Nigerians come to the U.S., they will never “go back to their huts” in Africa, according to The New York Times.


[READ ALSO: Inflation: Lagos, other western states, worst hit by the border closure(Opens in a new browser tab)]

Myanmar is another intriguing case: the United States has spent the last decade trying to improve ties with the country, which has embraced partial civilian rule after years of living under a military dictatorship. The U.S. still wants to coax Myanmar out of China’s orbit, despite the Myanmar military’s mass slaughter of Rohingya Muslims.

U.S. officials also have been keen to improve relations with Belarus, a country long seen as under the sway of Russia. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo had planned to visit the country just weeks ago, but had to cancel the trip to respond to rising tensions with Iran.

Sudan, meanwhile, has long had poor relations with the United States. But it recently underwent a revolution, and longtime leader Omar al-Bashir was ousted. Sudan’s new leadership has been trying to improve its standing in Washington. Being added to the travel ban could undermine the new government’s domestic standing.

Acting Homeland Security Secretary, Chad Wolf acknowledged Friday that the U.S. has been creating criteria for foreign governments to address in helping vet foreign nationals seeking to enter the United States.

“For a small number of countries that lack either the will or the capability to adhere to these criteria, travel restrictions may become necessary to mitigate threats,” he said in prepared remarks for a Homeland Security Experts Group event.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.