UBA ads

The Federal Government (FG) earned about N28.6 trillion from Value Added Tax (VAT), mineral revenues, and non-mineral revenues between 2012 and 2016. This was disclosed by the Nigeria Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (NEITI) in its latest Fiscal Allocation and Statutory Disbursement Audit Report for the period mentioned. 

Breakdown: The NEITI’s report has it that of the N28.58 trillion remitted to the Federation Account, mineral source contributed the highest sum of N18.15 trillion, after deductions for joint venture cash calls and subsidy claims. This represents about 64.7% of the total earnings, followed by non-mineral source N6.68 trillion, representing about 23.4%, while VAT was put at N3.73 trillion, representing 13%. 

[READ MORE: FG lists N296 billion savings bond on NSE]

Going by a year–by–year breakdown of the total remittances, N4.19 trillion was remitted in 2012, while N4.73 trillion was recorded in 2013. Furthermore, N4.69 trillion was recorded in 2014 while N2.89 trillion and N1.65 trillion were remitted in 2015 and 2016 respectively. 

How the N28.6 trillion was shared: Out of the N18.16 trillion mineral revenues, the Federal Government received N8.32 trillion from 2012 – 2016, the 36 State Governments shared N4.22 trillion while the 774 Local Governments got N3.25 trillion. This is exclusive of N2.36 trillion 13% derivation to the oil, gas and mining producing states. 

Analysis of the report further has it that out of the N6.68 trillion non-mineral revenues, the Federal Government received N3.52 trillion, while the 36 states got N1.79 trillion and 774 local governments took N1.38 trillion.   

More so, the Federal Government received N560 billion from the N3.73 trillion total VAT revenue, 36 States got N1.88 trillion, while 774 local governments got N1.31 trillion.  

What you should know: It is pertinent to note that aside from the remittances to the Federation Account, the audit tracked statutory allocations and their applications with a specific focus on nine states, four interventionist agencies, and five special funds.  

Standard chartered

The nine states covered by the statutory allocation and disbursement segment of the report include Rivers, Bayelsa, Akwa Ibom, Nasarawa, Delta, Ondo, Imo, Kano and Gombe states.   

[READ ALSO: Bail-out Fund: FG negotiates with States Governors as NEC approves 100 billion for NLTP]

Standard chartered

The Federal agencies are Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC), Petroleum Technology Development Fund (PTDF), Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFUND), and Petroleum Products Pricing Regulatory Agency (PPPRA). The special funds include Natural Resources Development Fund (NRDF), Petroleum Equalisation Fund (PEF), Excess Crude Account (ECA), Ecological Fund (EF), and Stabilization Fund (SF). 




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.