Telecommunication companies, Telecoms, Call tariffs, Taxes and levies

There are plans by Nigerian telecommunication companies to increase its tariff rates on outgoing calls based on users’ residential State. The telcos intend to engage a consultant to carry out a cost-based study.

Only for selected States: The new tariff by the network operators will reflect the cost of doing business in the affected states; meaning it will only be effective in selected States.

The reason for a possible tariff increase is the multiple taxes and levies imposed on telecoms infrastructure by Government agencies in various States which the telecoms companies have spoken against in the past.

Complain archive: MTN is the latest telco to complain about the multiple taxes. The company’s facilities was recently shut down in Kogi State over allegations that it had not met its tax obligations to the state Government.

MTN, however, refuted the claims of the Kogi State Government, filing a legal action against the State.

ALTON had also complained: Also, the Association of Licensed Telecommunications Operators of Nigeria (ALTON) condemned the sealing of hub telecoms stations of its members due to the failure of the operators to comply with the payment of about 36 statutory and non-statutory taxes and levies in Kogi State.

ALTON denied members are owing the Kogi State Government. The body’s Chairman, Gbenga Adebayo, had explained that members of the association had settled all statutory levies and taxes due to the Kogi State Government and had taken necessary steps to comply with local laws that governed business activities within the state.

There’s a total communication blackout ahead if Kogi presses on, Adebayo warned. He disclosed that the blackout would be experienced in Kogi State and some parts of Abuja, Nasarawa, Benue, Enugu, Anambra, Edo, Ondo, Ekiti, Kwara, and Niger states if the Kogi State Government increases its internally generated revenue.

In Adebayo’s word:

Deal book 300 x 250

“As a result of these actions by the state government, our members are unable to refuel power generators at these sites, a situation which has led to the outage of over 70 sites including hub sites across parts of Kogi State.

“Now, there is likely impact on nine states surrounding Kogi namely: Nasarawa, Benue, Enugu, Anambra, Edo, Ondo, Ekiti, Kwara, and Niger states. These are states sharing borders with Kogi State, and Abuja the FCT inclusive.”

Also, In Taraba State, major base transceiver stations of network operators were shut over demands for the payment of environmental protection levy of about N285m by each telecoms operator.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.